Coming out of the shadows

It took me many years to start writing again. I’m quite shy, though I’m beginning to understand that it’s a prerequisite for writers ;)

I’ve been living in the shadows most of my years on Earth, hiding behind school work, academia, or burying myself in work in any way I can in order to shut off this need, this desire to write, to create something that isn’t real. In the last 2 years, I’ve been creating non-stop, and I noticed that I work even harder to try to block these from coming, so that I can concentrate on my work. Finally, about 6 months ago a story just wrote itself and began pounding violently to get out and see the world. I caved. I jumped on my laptop and did not stop typing until it was all out on paper. After a few revisions and with much hesitation I showed it to a few friends, who either seemed to like it or at least pretended to. Since then, stories have been pouring out of me. I write non stop and I don’t want to stop, I like creating something magical and exciting.I noticed, however, that I am extremely limited by my fear of the unknown, i.e., where should I go next? how to find a publisher? is it something I am ready to share with the world? and basically, being my silly self, lol.

This blog has several purposes. One is to get some feedback and information about where to go from here. Another, is possibly to gain some support in this exciting and terrifying process. Finally, I’m sure that I’m not the only one who is new to writing but has long dreamed of it, so I hope that this blog will be helpful to others trying to write.

I welcome all comments, feedback, encouragement and critique and will keep you updated on my process.

Warmly,

Shadow

20 Comments

Filed under Fantasy, Fiction, Magic

20 responses to “Coming out of the shadows

  1. Laura

    Good luck in this adventure!! I’m glad you have allowed yourself to create, and share with others your fear and passion. Many will benefit to read this and enjoy your wisdom smart girl!!

  2. Love the post and love what you’re doing!

  3. I too have just recently started blogging as a way to gauge what others find interesting and helpful and also as a catharsis and an outlet for myself. I enjoy writing, however, I am not that great at it! But hey, I’m willing to learn and every day I find it gets better and better the more I practice. Anyway, back to your blog. I think it’s wonderful what you are doing so I am going to add you to my blogroll (actually under blogs I admire because that is where I keep my best blogs ;)) and I am subscribing to your feed because I think that if you have it in your heart to be a writer then you have already gotten the hard part down. I also think that you should look into self publishing and stick to paperback and an e-book. Actually, An e-book is probably the best place for you to start. I hear it is mega easy to get a short story e-book published so give that a look. Also, one of the nicest publishing companies I have spoken to is xilbris (www.xlibris.com) they have always been super helpful for me. I hope this info is helpful to you.
    You may also want to check out articles like this one before choosing http://reviews.cnet.com/self-publishing/ (this guy uses booksurge.com)
    I think you are doing a great job and keep on posting because I am anxious to hear more from you! If you get a free moment check out my blog http:www.withoutalabel.me and let me know what you think. I’m wishing you abundant blessings,
    Kimmy

    • Thank you so much, Kimmy!
      What a warm and supportive comment and it was extremely helpful! I was actually contacted by Xilbris today, I”m looking into them, they seem great.
      I just read a few posts from your blog, the one about running a successful blog is extremely helpful. Thank you for putting it together. I loved your blogs about spirituality and holistic healing! I’m so sorry about your health concerns, please let me know if there’s anything I can do to help. Here’s a great blog about health and natural healing: http://realivzehealth.com/. Hope you’re feeling better.
      Warmly,
      Shadow

      • You are more than welcome and thank you! I appreciate the website and I will look into it asap. I also appreciate your concerns, I have a feeling I’m going to be ok, I just have some kinks to work out then I’ll be just fine! You are so kind and I can’t thank you enough for all of your comments. I love your site and I can’t wait to read more!
        Blessings,
        Kimmy

  4. Hi Kim:
    Just to let you know it often takes some of years to come out of the shadows…that’s what I’m doing at 61. I had dreamed of being a writer but life took me in a variety of different directions. Now I have the time and still the passion but it doesn’t come any easier. Glad to see you’ve started early.. Look forward to future blogs from you. I started blogging in hopes it would stimulate my muse and maybe help others struggling with their creative expressions. If you get a chance check out blueheronwrites.wordpress.com. My entries have been rather eclectic lately but they were issues and events important for me to express. Good Luck and blessings on your journey….
    Wendie

    • Wendie,
      thank you so much, this means so much to me and it is so helpful to read such inspirational comments. Thank you :)
      Warmly,
      Shadow

  5. Sorry Janina…. I wrote that post to you but used Kim’s name….. Apologies!

  6. Matt

    You
    MUST
    Say
    FUCK IT

  7. Shadow, I want to remind you that in one of your posts (“I have no idea what I am doing”) you have succinctly summarized the act of writing for new writers: “More than anything, remember not to overburden and stress yourself out, write because you love it, if you’re struggling, put it away, meditate, dream, dance, and don’t forget to breathe. Inspiration comes at the most unexpected moments sometimes, it’s better to let flow naturally.”
    I think this is not only good advice but it is true, and works for most writers, including me. However, sometimes, when you have to ‘create stories’ because of an assignment / agreement with a publisher, and meet deadlines, you might feel stressed, as you have to work with a time table. I am currently doing a series of six books for a well known publisher, therefore I am speaking from experience. Having authored and/or illustrated some forty children’s books, I can tell you that I have always enjoyed writing stories when they have just come to me and poured out of me rather than the rather forced act of writing due to external pressures and commitments. You rock! And I am sure you will do very well. Wish you all the best. Rumana (http://www.karachiwali.blogspot.com/)

  8. I am certainly glad that you are out of the shadows and IN PRINT! yippee

  9. Looking forward to following your blog. Thanks for sharing mine about Memorial Day. Best wishes!!

  10. So glad to see that you decided to come out from the shadows. Keep on going! You’ll find that writing is fun, rewarding and sometimes challenging and even frustrating. But it’s all worth it!

  11. Hi Kimberly,
    What can I say? I have written all of my life also. I began trying to write at three. No body could understand it but me, but that was okay because I could read it to them. However, it has taken years to find my own voice in writing. Somehow or another, the power wasn’t consistently there to write the things I wanted to write. Now it is. So, I wish that you continue to have the faith to walk out your desire and finish the journey you have begun. Never forget that it is when we move towards that which we fear, that the mountains in our lives become molehills.
    All the best.
    Ciao,
    Patricia

  12. Hi Kimberly – Your quest to come out of the shadows is great. I read through a couple of your post and the information you gave was really helpful. Like you, I love to write but the writing bug didn’t hit me until a few years ago. Never before had I thought seriously about writing, now that’s all I think about. It started with a few poems and inspirational thoughts, which lead me to self-publish a book called Simple Thoughts for Everyday Living. I’m currently seeking publication for my children’s book and I blog about whatever inspires me. I love to use symbolism in my writing and found that adding a little extra flavor to ground level ideas causes me to see beyond what is there. http://wanda-simplyinspired.blogspot.com/
    Have a delightful time on your journey.

  13. let the creativity resume through your words!

Leave a Reply

